Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted

Chris Solari - Detroit Free Press

EAST LANSING – Here is the full explanation official Bo Boroski gave to a pool reporter about the final 1.6 seconds of Michigan State’s 78-77 win over Florida Gulf Coast on Sunday night that ended in a “timing error.”

Boroski statement: “A timing error occurred with 1.6 seconds remaining on the game clock. Since a timing error occurred, we are able to utilize the replay monitor. A stopwatch was used to determine if any time should remain on the game clock. Using a stopwatch, it was determined the ball was caught and released in 1.3 seconds, meaning if the shot would have gone in, it would have counted. After the miss there was no time remaining in the game, therefore ending the game. By rule the possession cannot be replayed. Period.”

Reporter: “The timing, the clock, is that kept by you guys or is that there on the tables?”

Boroski: “Starting and stopping the game clock?”

 
 

Reporter: “Yes.”

Boroski: “So the officials had the capability to start the game clock, and the whistles stop the game clock. The timer on the sideline has that capability as well.”

Reporter: “OK, which kind of confuses me so...”

Boroski: “Well so there’s four ways for the game clock to start and stop. The three officials, and the timer on the sideline.”

Reporter: “OK, so when something like that happens you’re all starting it and they’re starting it on the sideline I guess is what...”

Boroski: “All four of us have the capability. When the timing error occurred it allowed us to utilize the monitor. OK, and then that’s when we break out the stopwatch. At that point, as the statement read, we have to determine what’s the, because play didn’t stop. If that try is released after the 1.6 we are going to wave it off. If that try is released before the 1.6 we are going to count it. It was determined it was released before the 1.6, we were prepared to count it. It did not go in, and using the stopwatch we didn’t need to put any time back on the clock because it had expired.”

Posted

Monday's games to watch: Oregon vs. Georgetown, UConn vs. Oklahoma State, Colorado vs. Notre Dame, Kansas vs. UAB, Cal vs. San Diego State. I would add the replay of IU vs Liberty

Monday's under-the-radar games: Wisconsin vs. Tenn., Belmont at Florida, Creighton vs. Ole Miss, Northwestern vs. Texas, UNC vs. Chaminade.
@jonrothstein


Sent from my iPhone using BtownBanners

Posted
51 minutes ago, Class of '66 Old Fart said:

Chris Solari - Detroit Free Press

EAST LANSING – Here is the full explanation official Bo Boroski gave to a pool reporter about the final 1.6 seconds of Michigan State’s 78-77 win over Florida Gulf Coast on Sunday night that ended in a “timing error.”

Boroski statement: “A timing error occurred with 1.6 seconds remaining on the game clock. Since a timing error occurred, we are able to utilize the replay monitor. A stopwatch was used to determine if any time should remain on the game clock. Using a stopwatch, it was determined the ball was caught and released in 1.3 seconds, meaning if the shot would have gone in, it would have counted. After the miss there was no time remaining in the game, therefore ending the game. By rule the possession cannot be replayed. Period.”

Reporter: “The timing, the clock, is that kept by you guys or is that there on the tables?”

Boroski: “Starting and stopping the game clock?”

 
 

Reporter: “Yes.”

Boroski: “So the officials had the capability to start the game clock, and the whistles stop the game clock. The timer on the sideline has that capability as well.”

Reporter: “OK, which kind of confuses me so...”

Boroski: “Well so there’s four ways for the game clock to start and stop. The three officials, and the timer on the sideline.”

Reporter: “OK, so when something like that happens you’re all starting it and they’re starting it on the sideline I guess is what...”

Boroski: “All four of us have the capability. When the timing error occurred it allowed us to utilize the monitor. OK, and then that’s when we break out the stopwatch. At that point, as the statement read, we have to determine what’s the, because play didn’t stop. If that try is released after the 1.6 we are going to wave it off. If that try is released before the 1.6 we are going to count it. It was determined it was released before the 1.6, we were prepared to count it. It did not go in, and using the stopwatch we didn’t need to put any time back on the clock because it had expired.”

Yeah because hearing the buzzer couldn't possibly cause you to alter your shot. sounds like one of the refs started it early btw. 

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...