Thanks for visiting BtownBanners.com!  We noticed you have AdBlock enabled.  While ads can be annoying, we utilize them to provide these forums free of charge to you!  Please consider removing your AdBlock for BtownBanners or consider signing up to donate and help BtownBanners stay alive!  Thank you!

Sign in to follow this  
Stuhoo

Tony Barbee?

from Wiki: 
"Barbee played college basketball for the University of Massachusetts under Coach John Calipari. Barbee later served as an assistant under Calipari at Memphis and often cited Calipari as his mentor."

Let's just make it clear to him that most of Cal's strategies won't be used in Indiana.
On a different note, it shows that Barbee is from Indianapolis.

Nice!   i'm no expert, but he seems like a quality assistant coach, his record seems to indicate he wasn't too successful as a HC though.  

Can't tell if I'm excited about Barbee? or if I'm excited that there is just some movement on the assistant coach job.  seems like there have been no rumors or updates for awhile.

We have the recruitng in place. Now that we are being forced to come back to recruiting Indiana/Midwest fulltime, we need an assistant willing to pull Crean aside and question his ingame situational awareness and adjustments. Not trying to turn this into a bashfest on Crean, but I prefer a coach instead of a recruiter. That being said, Barbee was an accessory to laying the foundation that has completely destroyed college basketball...dunno why anyone would want that on their sideline.

Yeah I'm really confused why we would look at someone who was involved with the two schools that Cal steamrolled with violations. Especially as the lead recruiter at Memphis. I couldn't imagine Glass being ok with this kind of hire. Sent from my place of advanced, analytical thinking: the toilet.

The peeps over at another site haven't heard anything serious about this.