Thanks for visiting BtownBanners.com!  We noticed you have AdBlock enabled.  While ads can be annoying, we utilize them to provide these forums free of charge to you!  Please consider removing your AdBlock for BtownBanners or consider signing up to donate and help BtownBanners stay alive!  Thank you!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Kilroy

RMK

Let me start by saying that I was a huge fan of Coach Knight. I walked on the president's house and assembly hall along with 1000s of other students when he was fired by the ex-president who shall be named.

But as time as gone by, I've lost more and more respect for Coach Knight, and not just because of the stories that Dan Dakich and other ex-players have told. I'm tired of the petulance and self-absorption that few possess to that level beyond the terrible twos.

I don't know how everyone else feels, but I don't want Coach Knight to come back. I don't need a statute or named arena. Indiana Basketball always has and always will be bigger than one man, and I don't think that one man does a very good job of representing the school anyway. 

So goodbye, RMK, moving on here.

It was interesting to hear what Jay Bilas had to say on the subject of Knight when I went to the Q&A. He said that Bob has always been his own person, and underneath the tough, coaching exterior, he was still a person on the inside, and that person was hurt by the way he was let go at Indiana. He said that to his knowledge, there is no timetable for Knight to return to Blommington, and that the only way he will come back is when he has recovered from the hurt.

I think RMK is a great basketball mind, and someone whose accomplishments outweigh those of many others. I would love to meet him, shake his hand, and thank him for the time he put in here at Indiana. That being said, there will be no tears shed by me if he never returns. Maybe that's because I'm young, but its the way I see it.