Jump to content

Thanks for visiting BtownBanners.com!  We noticed you have AdBlock enabled.  While ads can be annoying, we utilize them to provide these forums free of charge to you!  Please consider removing your AdBlock for BtownBanners or consider signing up to donate and help BtownBanners stay alive!  Thank you!

Class of '66 Old Fart

2018 B1G XC Championships - 10/28

Recommended Posts

Indiana Cross Country will travel Lincoln, Neb. on Sunday to compete in the 2018 Big Ten Cross Country Championships. The meet will be hosted by the University of Nebraska at the Mahoney Golf Course. This will be the first time that the Huskers have hosted the championships since joining the league in 2011.
The championships welcome 14 women's teams and 12 men's teams. Six Big Ten women's programs are ranked in the USTFCCCA (U.S. Track & Field Cross Country Coaches Association) national polls. The Michigan Women are the highest ranked at No.7 while the Hoosiers are ranked a program high 10th. Wisconsin follows just below at No.11. Penn State (13), Michigan State (14), and Minnesota (21) round out B1G teams that are ranked. On the men's side, the Big Ten sees four of its schools ranked. Wisconsin leads Big Ten schools by being ranked third. Purdue is the only other Big Ten foe ranked higher than the Hoosiers at No. 18. Indiana is ranked 22nd in the last polls with Michigan not far behind in 27th.
Last year, Michigan swept the weekend by taking the men's and women's titles. The Hoosiers will look to improve on their seventh place in both men's and women's races. The last time the men won the Big Ten Championships was in 2013 with 51 points. Zach Mayhew is the last individual champion as he was crowned in 2012. On the women's side, they haven't captured a Big Ten title since they went back-to-back in 1989 and 1990.
Kyle Mau is the fastest runner on the men's as he looks to improve on his 17th place finish that he notched last season. He was the second fastest Hoosier in 2017 behind former teammate Ben Veatch who finished 4th overall.
Kathrine Receveur returns to the championships to defend her individual Big Ten title from 2017. Receveur won the meet hosted at Indiana with a course record time of 20:10.3.
The women's 6k race will begin on Sunday morning at 11:45 a.m. ET with the men's 8k race beginning shortly after at 12:45 p.m. ET.
Sunday's award ceremonies will take place at the conclusion of the men's race at approximately 1:30 p.m. ET. The teams with the lowest point totals will be crowned as the 2018 Big Ten Champions. Then, the top three finishers in each race will receive their trophies and All-Conference teams will be recognized in the conclusion of the championships.

Live Results



Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

In the women's race, Kathrine Receveur (Sr.) was unable to defend her title finishing in 6th place in a time of 20:14.3.  The women's team finished in 5th place 2 places better than in 2017.  For the Hoosiers, Margaret Allen (Sr.) finished 9th; Bailey Hertenstein (Fr.) 28th; Bailey Harris (Sr.) 30th; Lexa Barrott (Jr.) 39th Hannah Stoffel (So.) 52nd; Kelsey Harris (Jr.) 57th; Grace Walther (Jr.) 88th; Claire Hamilton (Fr.) 116th.  There were a total of 123 women runners.  

Michigan was the overall team winner.  Alicia Monson (Jr.) from WI was the individual winner in 19:49.3.  

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Very good performance from the men who improved from a 7th place team finish in 2017 to finish 3rd in 2018.  Men were led by Kyle Mau (Jr.) who finished in 7th place in a time of 23:44.3  Dustin Horter (Fr.) 14th; Bryce Millar (Jr.) 24th; Joseph Murphy (Sr.) 26th; Arjun Jha (Fr.) 37th; Reese Jordan (Fr.) 42nd; Kyle Burks (Sr.) 46th; Daniel Michalski (Sr.) 48th; Hunter Moore (So.) 65th.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now